Skip to main content

[BoldTrail] How to Transfer Contact Ownership

Learn how Team Admins can transfer contact ownership from themselves to a Team entity in BoldTrail.

As a Team Admin, you can transfer ownership of a contact from yourself to your Team entity in BoldTrail. This can be useful if you are personally generating leads to then share out to members on your Team, or if you manually add contacts that need to fall under the Team's ownership.

Please Note: You may only transfer ownership of a contact that you own, and there is no way to undo this action, so select your contacts carefully!

Company Admin Tip: As a Company Admin, you may transfer contact ownership of Company-Owned leads to the Assigned Agent.

For information on sharing or transferring a contact to an individual, click here.


Overview

Ownership can only be transferred from yourself to the Team entity; no other Admins have this access. Agents should continue to use the Transfer Contact(s) option if they want to give someone else a contact.

Transferring of leads from an agent to a company is not currently supported.

  • Transfer Contact(s) moves the contact record and ownership to another individual.

  • Transfer Ownership moves the contact from an individual to an entity — in this case, from the Team Admin to the Team.

To learn more about sharing and transferring contacts to an individual, you can review the article called [BoldTrail] How to Share or Transfer a Contact linked here!


Steps to Transfer Contact Ownership

  1. Log into your BoldTrail account.

  2. Navigate to the Contacts tab on the left.

  3. Filter for the contacts you would like to transfer ownership of.

  4. Check the boxes next to the names of the desired contacts.

  5. Click the More Actions dropdown at the top of the contacts table.

  6. Select Transfer Ownership from the dropdown menu.

  7. Under Select Entity, use the Transfer ownership of contact(s) to dropdown to select the Team entity you'd like to transfer ownership to.

Tip: Unless you are an Admin for multiple Team entities, you will only see one option in this dropdown.

  1. Under Select Contacts to transfer, confirm the contacts selected. You may also optionally:

    • Add a Saved Filter to apply an existing Contacts filter to these contacts.

    • Add a Hashtag to apply an existing hashtag to these contacts.

Tip: Hashtags must already exist in BoldTrail before they can be applied here. You cannot create a new hashtag from this module.

  1. Click the Transfer button in the bottom left to complete the transfer.

A confirmation notification will appear in the bottom right of your BoldTrail account confirming the contacts were transferred. You will remain the Assigned Agent for these contacts — if you'd like to reassign them to another Agent, you will need to do that separately.

Did this answer your question?