There may be contacts in your Smart CRM that are not useful anymore or possibly don't have valid information. It is in your best interest to manage your contacts and to do this you may need to delete/Archive them. As an Agent or an Admin, you have the ability to delete contacts entirely so that they are removed from the system, or they can be Archived which removes the lead but only from the main display in the Smart CRM (this means you can still filter to find them).

To learn more about contact filtering, click here.

It's important to note that Agents can only delete leads that they are the owner of. Admins will be able to delete leads depending on their access (Team, Office, or Company-owned). Agents will not be able to delete contacts that are owned by one of the aforementioned entities (Teams, Offices, or the Company).

To learn more about lead ownership click here.

Article Sections

How to Delete a Contact

How to Archive a Contact

Deleting or Archiving Leads en Masse

How to Update Your Archived Contacts

How to Find Archived Contacts

How to Restore Your Archived Contacts

How to Delete a Contact

With kvCORE, you can delete contacts that you own. This means that if a contact is assigned to you from your Team or Broker you won't be able to permanently delete them.

If you do have permission to delete a contact there are a few ways within kvCORE to do so. If you're deleting a single contact the easiest way is from the contact record.

Disclaimer: Only delete a contact if you wish for them to be removed entirely from the system. Once a contact has been removed it is not possible to retrieve that contact - the data will be lost.

Step 1. Access the contact record by clicking on their name, either through the Smart CRM, the Dashboard, or by searching for the contact using the Search tool with the kvCORE toolbar.

Step 2. Once in the contact profile click 'More Actions' and select 'Delete Contact' from the dropdown menu.

Note: If the option to "Delete Contact" is greyed out this means that you are not the owner of the contact and therefore you cannot permanently delete the contact from your Smart CRM.

Step 3. A popup will appear that states 'Are you sure?' To confirm that you'd like to delete the contact click the green 'Yes' button.

Please Note: It may take several minutes for your Smart CRM to update.

How to Archive a Contact

Archiving a contact is similar to deleting, but without actually removing them from kvCORE. This option does not remove any information associated with the contact and will continue to be accessible by you. When a contact is archived there will be no communication sent to them, meaning they are there but kvCORE will not reach out automatically or even let you manually try and reach out to the contact. (this can always be reversed).

Step 1. You can access the contact profile by clicking on their name, either through the Smart CRM, the Dashboard, or by searching for the Contact using the Search tool with the kvCORE toolbar.

Step 2. Once in the contact record, click 'More Action' to the right of the timeline. Select 'Archive Lead' from the dropdown.

Step 3. A new window will appear and ask 'Are You sure?' as this will affect any communication with this contact, select 'Yes' to proceed.

Please Note: While Archiving a contact is an action it is also a Status for contacts within kvCORE, so this means that you can Archive a lead by simply changing the status of a contact.

Deleting or Archiving Leads en Masse

With the Smart CRM in kvCORE, you have the ability to delete or Archive leads en masse. You can use this to sort through groups of leads more quickly.

Step 1. Select the Smart CRM tab within kvCORE.

Step 2. Select the checkboxes next to the name of the contacts you wish to Archive/delete. You also have the ability to select all of the contacts on the page by selecting the checkbox next to 'First Name'.

Step 3. Once you have selected the contacts you wish to Archive/delete you will then click on the 'More Actions' tab within the Smart CRM.

Step 4. You will then see both options to delete or Archive the contacts. Select the option with which you wish to move forward with.

Step 5a. If you want to Archive your contacts, a popup will appear asking you to confirm. If you'd like to proceed select 'Confirm' from the bottom left.

You'll then be asked to confirm once more. Select 'Yes'.

Step 5b. If you want to delete your contacts, a popup will appear asking you to confirm. If you'd like to proceed select 'Yes'.

How to Find & Update Your Archived Contacts

Once your contacts have been Archived they will not automatically appear in your Smart CRM. To see them, you'll need to use your Smart CRM filters.

How to Find Archived Contacts

Step 1. Click on the 'Filters' button on the upper left.

Step 2. Select 'Archived' and then apply filters with the green 'Apply Filters' button on the bottom.

You'll then be able to view all of your Archived contacts.

How to Restore Your Archived Contacts

There are times when a contact has been Archived, but at a later date, you'd like to restore the contact to your main Smart CRM. To do so is as simple as changing a contact status.

Find the contact using the method above. Then change the status using one of these two methods.

Changing the Status From the Contact Record

Step 1. Find the contact under the Archived filter.

Step 2. Enter the contact record.

Step 3. Click the status from the Client Journey that you'd like the contact to move to.

Step 4. Click 'Yes' to confirm.

Changing the Status From the Smart CRM (Single Contact)

Step 1. Find the contact under the Archived filter.

Step 2. Click 'Archived' under the 'Status' header.

Step 3. Select the status you'd like the contact moved to

Step 4. Press the checkmark.

Step 5. Click 'Proceed'.

Changing the Status From the Smart CRM (In Bulk)

Step 1. Go to the Archived filter in your Smart CRM.

Step 2. Use the checkboxes to select the contacts whose status you'd like changed.

Step 3. Select the 'More Action' menu.

Step 4. Choose 'Change Status' from the dropdown menu.

Step 5. From the popup that appears, select the status you'd like to choose for the contacts from the dropdown menu.

Step 6. Click 'Update Status' on the bottom left.

Step 7. Select ' Proceed'.

Related Articles

Contact Statuses Overview

A Complete Guide to Smart Campaigns

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please reach out to Customer Support via the blue chat bubble to the right or by emailing kvcore@insiderealestate.com!


(Keywords: archive, unarchive, delete, contacts)

Did this answer your question?